CLAWs Forums » Tabletop RPGs

Fantasy modules on Monday the 28th of Feb

(3 posts)
  • Started 13 years ago by confluence
  • Latest reply from confluence
  1. Hello,

I have two fantasy modules which I can run on Monday. They are both similar in tone -- closer to gritty low fantasy than to epic high fantasy -- and both use the cut-down free system called The Window (http://www.mimgames.com/window/), which emphasizes storytelling over stats.

The "Mini Mine Module" is (at least in theory) short and simple, and aimed at complete beginners to roleplaying. "By the Rivers Dark" is a full-length Dragonfire convention module, but it doesn't really require any roleplaying experience either. Here are the blurbs:

----

Mini Mine Module:

An elf, a dwarf, an orc and a goblin walk into an inn.

Well, it's not really an inn. It's a house where people come to get drunk. There isn't much else to do in Saltmine these days. It used to be a nice town, you know -- before the salt ran out, and they built that new pass over the mountain. Now no-one has any reason to come here, and the population drops lower every winter.

The four intrepid travellers all have places they would much rather be -- but an unforeseen complication may be about to extend their stay.

----

By the Rivers Dark:

The country estate of Lord Payne has mostly been unaffected by the distant war between the city of Blackwater and its neighbour -- but the lord's son and most of his men-at-arms are away at the front. That leaves very few retainers to investigate the fate of the reclusive herbalist Altus after his blood-spattered messenger pigeon arrives at Payne Castle. Is the nearby village of Red Creek once again threatened by mercenary bandits? It's up to your unlikely expedition to find out.

----

Each module needs four players, and four is the number of players that it needs.